Drunk Driving Lawyers Shelby
A conviction of driving while impaired in North Carolina can have a serious impact on your life, your finances, and your reputation. A DWI conviction may result in a sizable fine, loss of your driver’s license, and even the loss of your freedom if you have prior convictions. If you or a loved one has been charged with DWI, or driving under the influence (DUI) as it’s often called, you need to speak with one of our knowledgeable DWI defense lawyers as soon as possible to discuss your legal options.
At Teddy, Meekins & Talbert, attorneys David Teddy and Daniel Talbert are both Board-Certified Specialists in Criminal Law, an elite level of certification recognized by the North Carolina Bar. Less than 4 percent of lawyers in the state are board certified. In addition, Mr. Teddy has received special training in the defense of people charged with driving while impaired. He is also the author of “A Trial Lawyer’s Guide to Defending a DWI Case in North Carolina, ” which teaches other attorneys how to handle DWI cases.
If you are facing a DWI charge, you need a highly qualified Shelby DWI attorney who will map out a strong defense strategy and fight aggressively for your rights. Contact us today to discuss your options for moving past this stressful incident and on with your life.
What Are the Punishments for DWI in North Carolina?
North Carolina DWI laws indicate that motorists may be charged with driving while impaired if they are under the influence of alcohol, prescription drugs, or illegal drugs. Drivers who register .08 or higher on a blood alcohol test or breath test may be charged with DWI.
- Level 5: Up to $200 fine and 60 days in jail
- Level 4: Up to $500 fine and 120 days in jail
- Level 3: Up to $1, 000 fine and six months in jail
- Level 2: Up to $2, 000 fine and one year in jail
- Level 1: Up to $4, 000 fine and two years in jail
Felony DWI: Drivers who have three DWI convictions within the past seven years can face a felony DWI charge. They face a mandator minimum jail term of one year, as well as completion of a substance abuse program.
Drivers who are younger than 21 face penalties if there is any amount of alcohol in their system or on their breath.
In addition to fines and jail time, DWI convictions will result in a revoked driver’s license. Additional punishments may include mandatory substance abuse treatment and forfeiture of vehicles.
Schedule a consultation with our experienced North Carolina DWI attorneys today to discuss your case and learn how we will fight the charges you are facing.
What Factors Are Considered in DWI Punishments?
The factors a judge may take into consideration when determining a DWI punishment include:
- Any previous convictions of drunk driving or driving while impaired within the past seven years
- Serious injury caused to another person
- Whether the driver was transporting young children
- Whether the impairing substance was an illegal drug or a lawful substance
- Whether the impaired driver was driving on a revoked license as a result of a prior DWI conviction
A first-time DWI conviction typically does not carry jail time if there are no aggravating factors. However, the court will consider all these factors in determining the sentence.
Common Defenses Against DWI Charges
As with any criminal charge, you are innocent until proven otherwise, and there may be many opportunities to poke holes in the prosecution’s case against you. Some of the common DWI defenses we will explore in your case are:
- Did the police have a reasonable suspicion to stop you?
- Was the field sobriety test administered properly?
- Are the results of the breath test accurate?
- Did the police have probable cause to arrest you?
- Did the arresting officers follow proper protocol?
- Were you read your Miranda warnings?
- Do witnesses contradict the officers’ testimony?
- Were you really the driver of the vehicle?
Our dedicated Shelby DWI lawyers will seize every opportunity to chip away at the prosecution’s case with the goal of having the charges against you dropped or reduced. Contact us today to discuss what DWI defense strategies could be used in your case.
How Do You Get Limited Driving Privileges After a DWI in North Carolina?
If you have been convicted of a DWI in North Carolina, your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. Our North Carolina traffic lawyers may be able to help you obtain limited driving privileges so you can drive to work, school, church, community service assignments, and court-ordered treatments and assessments.
Limited driving privileges are issued at the discretion of the court. Our Shelby DWI attorneys will review with you whether you may be eligible for limited driving privileges and discuss what steps you need to take to request these privileges.