Drunk Driving Lawyers DuPage
Protect your rights - call (630) 260-9647 immediately for a free initial consultation with a skilled criminal defense attorney.
Inside Experience on DUI/DWI Charges
Before I practiced law, I served nine years as a police officer in the Wheaton, DuPage County, Illinois, area. My experience as a licensed breathalyzer operator, arresting officer and DUI enforcement instructor gives a deep understanding of where and when an officer might make a mistake. I am very familiar with the proper application of field sobriety tests.
This allows me to exploit any weaknesses in the prosecution's case. It gives my clients charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs an advantage. I am familiar with DUI court and viable defenses, and can confidently advise clients on whether it is in their best interests to plead guilty, go to trial or negotiate a plea.
DUI Criminal Penalties
On a first offense DUI, jail time can often be avoided through court supervision (no conviction and treatment). By challenging probable cause for the traffic stop, field sobriety tests and blood-alcohol tests, I have frequently succeeded in having charges dropped all together.
Illinois now has a lifetime look-back policy - you can be charged as a repeat offender even if your first DUI was 10 or 25 years ago. In some cases, second or repeat DUI can be a felony, with mandatory license revocation.
Depending on the particular circumstances, the consequences can also become more severe. For example, a drunk driving accident that results in injury or death may result in felony enhancements. Conviction of a DUI while driving without a license or without insurance can result in impounding and forfeiture of your vehicle.
Driver's License Consequences
Although it is often possible to avoid jail time on a first time DUI, there are still serious consequences. Regardless of what happens in your criminal case, if you are arrested for drunk driving because you failed an Intoxilyzer test or because you refused a test, your drivers license will be subject to an automatic suspension. This license suspension can range from six months to 3 years.
This suspension can be challenged in a summary suspension hearing, but you must act quickly to preserve your right to this hearing. At this hearing, I will challenge any evidence and police procedures. As a former police officer, I am well-equipped to handle these hearings.